East lancs CCG logo

| | | |  


On Friday 1st July 2022 clinical commissioning groups (CCG's) across the country were closed and were replaced by new NHS organisations known as Integrated Care Boards.

Therefore, NHS East Lancashire CCG no longer exists and has been replaced (along with the othe seven CCGs in Lancashire and South Cumbria) by the new NHS Lancashire and South Cumbria Integrated Care Board (ICB)

Please visit the new ICB website

UK’s most prestigious awards to celebrate nurses’ contribution

rcn nursing awards 2021 entries are open

The UK’s most prestigious nursing awards have opened for entries, with honours including the RCN Nurse of the Year 2021 title.

The RCN Nursing Awards, formerly the RCNi Nurse Awards, invite nurses, students and nursing support workers to share their innovations and expertise and celebrate their contribution to improving care and outcomes for people of all ages and walks of life.

Entries are open to individuals and teams in 14 categories covering the diversity of nursing.

The Patient’s Choice category, which gives patients an opportunity to nominate a nurse, health visitor or nursing support worker who has made a difference to their lives, is decided by public vote.

The RCN Nurse of the Year 2021 will be chosen from the category winners, announced at the awards ceremony in October.

RCN general secretary Dame Donna Kinnair said: ‘We know that nursing teams have been under huge pressure for more than a year now because of the pandemic and that they are exhausted, but we also know that throughout the UK they have gone above and beyond to sustain and improve care in the most challenging conditions.

‘Sharing innovations in practice to benefit even more people and recognising nursing excellence are what the RCN Nursing Awards are all about, so I would encourage nurses to put themselves forward or nominate a worthy colleague.

‘Let’s shout loud and proud about the outstanding care nursing teams are delivering in every specialty, every day, UK-wide.’

Awards judging panel chair Joanne Bosanquet, chief executive of the Foundation of Nursing Studies, said: ‘These prestigious awards are a fantastic way for nursing teams to showcase practice that is making a difference to people’s – and often entire communities’ – health and well-being.

‘It has been an incredibly tough year, but in many cases this has driven nurses to further improve the care they give, and this needs to shared and recognised on a national platform.

The deadline for entries is 30 April. You do not need to be an RCN member to enter and all categories are open to entrants from across the UK.

Enter at http://www.rcn-nursing-awards.co.uk.

The categories:

RCN Nursing Awards 2021 categories

Advanced nursing practice – sponsored by the RCN

Child health

Commitment to carers – sponsored by NHS England

Community and GP nursing – sponsored by NHS England

Excellence in cancer research nursing – sponsored by Cancer Research UK

Innovations in your specialty – sponsored by the NMC

Learning disability nursing

Mental health nursing

Nursing older people

Nursing support worker – sponsored by the RCN

Outstanding contribution to infection prevention and control – sponsored by INEOS Hygienics

Patient’s choice

Student nurse - sponsored by Tork

Team of the year – sponsored by LV