East lancs CCG logo

| | | |  


On Friday 1st July 2022 clinical commissioning groups (CCG's) across the country were closed and were replaced by new NHS organisations known as Integrated Care Boards.

Therefore, NHS East Lancashire CCG no longer exists and has been replaced (along with the othe seven CCGs in Lancashire and South Cumbria) by the new NHS Lancashire and South Cumbria Integrated Care Board (ICB)

Please visit the new ICB website

Continuing Healthcare

What is NHS continuing Healthcare?

The term ‘NHS continuing healthcare’ is the name given to a package of care which is arranged and funded solely by the NHS for individuals outside of hospital who have ongoing healthcare needs. NHS continuing healthcare is free, unlike support provided by local authorities for which a financial charge will be made depending on your income and savings.

Who is eligible for NHS continuing healthcare?

Anyone over 18 years of age assessed as having a certain level of care needs may be entitled to NHS continuing healthcare. It is not dependent on a particular diagnosis alone and a detailed assessment will need to be carried out to capture the nature, intensity, complexity, and unpredictability of your care needs.

  pdf NHS Continuing Healthcare Multidisciplinary Meeting Guidelines (144 KB)
  pdf NHS Continuing Healthcare and NHS Funded Nursing Care Public Information (224 KB)
  pdf NHS Continuing Healthcare and NHS-funded Nursing Care Public Information Leaflet (103 KB)

pdf Age UK CHC and FNC fact sheet (1.46 MB)